2012 Award Winners

Laura Stein Award winner Debra L. Zumwalt Pioneer Award winner Louise H. Renne Pioneer in the Public Sector Award winner
James M. Strother Award winner Rainmaker Award winner Firm Wide Policies Award winner
Sharing the Power Award winner

Laura Stein Award

The award honors a woman general counsel who has manifested a sustained commitment to accelerate the ascendancy of women to senior leadership roles in the law department and beyond. Her unselfish commitment to advancing women has made a significant impact professionally and personally on those she entrusts.
Karen Cottle
Winner: Karen Cottle, Senior Vice President, General Counsel and Corporate Secretary, Adobe Systems Incorporated
View Bio

Mary Doyle
Winner: Mary Doyle, Vice President, Legal, Chief Compliance & Ethics Officer, Oracle
View Bio

Debra L. Zumwalt Pioneer Award

The award is presented to a woman general counsel or senior executive that has transformed being the “first” into being a catalyst for change. She indelibly raises the bar for attorneys and corporations by consistently demonstrating her dynamic expertise, core values and ideas that drive unprecedented collaboration, innovation and achievement to deliver sustainable results. Her strong sense of purpose transcends the legal profession, as she is devoted to both professional and civic leadership, policy reform and the economic advancement of others to achieve success.

Teveia R. Barnes
Winner: Teveia R. Barnes, Commissioner of Financial Institutions, State of California
View Bio

Louise H. Renne Pioneer In The Public Sector Award

The award recognizes a woman who was or is an agency head or leader in the public sector whose unyielding vision, core values and philosophy of using her achievements as inspiration to positively impact the careers of women in the public sector, law firms or law departments.

Charles Robinson
Winner: Charles Robinson, Vice President and General Counsel for Legal Affairs, University of California
View Bio

James M. Strother Award

The award is presented to a law firm managing partner, law firm senior leader or senior law department leader whose courage, unyielding vision, integrity, conviction and authenticity have carved a groundbreaking path and laid a new foundation to accelerate the economic empowerment of attorneys of color or women.

Hyun Park
Winner: Hyun Park, Senior Vice President and General Counsel, PG&E Corporation
View Bio

Rainmaker Award

Presented to a female partner who manages a substantial amount of business exceeding $2.5 million annually, this award recognizes outstanding business generation efforts and exemplary client service.

Pat Gillette
Winner: Pat Gillette, Partner, Orrick, Herrington & Sutcliffe LLP
View Bio

Firm Wide Policies

This category recognizes a law firm that has made significant strides in advancing women by measuring what matters: the percentage of women on the executive or management committee, equity partnership committee, compensation committees, and the percentage of women who are relationship managers.

Winner: Winston & Strawn LLP

Sharing the Power Award

This award is presented jointly to a women general counsel or senior leader in a law department and a female partner at a law firm who have collaborated to increase the economic empowerment of one or more female partners in that firm.
Megan Belcher
Winner: Megan Belcher, Vice President and Chief Employment Counsel, ConAgra Foods, Inc.
View Bio

Nicky Jatana
Winner: Nicky Jatana, Partner, Jackson Lewis LLP
View Bio